I’ve thought about starting a blog before. I’ve even followed through on a few posts in the past. Writing has always been a way for me to deal with things that are going on in my life and the world at large. So I’m starting again. Because some of this shit is hard to believe if I don’t write it down. The past week alone has already brought news of a yet another bombing, school shooting, white house blunder, and this whole United Airlines fiasco.

This country is a sinking ship. I’m sitting here desperately scrolling through cat videos like someone sitting calmly on the deck of the Titanic listening to the quartet play as if nothing is going on. We have to feign some degree of ignorance to carry on being, don’t we? One person cannot be consistently alarmed, enraged, and saddened all the time. At some point you must shrug your shoulders and move on with the day. Though I do think Facebook would do well to invest in a combination laugh/cry reaction about now.

I can’t help but laugh at the absurdity of it all. I laugh out loud and look over my shoulder hoping to see…. I don’t know, a rip in space-time or something? Maybe a pathway back to my own dimension because clearly we are living in an alternate reality that was never supposed to be. Some moron stepped on the wrong butterfly and here we are.